Alternatives, and why they are good

I explore the reasons, downfalls and achievements of Linux as a day-to-day operating system. Also, I announce an exciting project.

It should come as no big surprise, for those that know me personally, that I am a fan of Linux. This lightweight operating system can give new life to older equipment, high end servers and can also be embedded into smaller technology (tablets, phones, Raspberry Pi..the list can go on) . It’s versatile, unique, secure. These are reasons I like and have used Linux for years.

“But Trensvex”, you ask. “Isn’t Windows and iOS the same?” Yes, Windows is versatile. It has the lions share of desktops, laptops and server operating systems. Yes, it is secure when you do your updates, backups and scans. iOS is based on Unix, which is the backbone of Linux (just went down a different path). Apple is quickly leading the phone market with the iPhone. Mac books are popular.

“Then why use Linux?” . You’ll be surprised how often I hear this question. Why wear that shirt? Why have your hair that way? Tattoos, piercings. The reason behind this is simple. Why use Linux? Personally, I use Linux as an alternative to Windows and iOS. With Windows, when purchasing a computer from the store, or online from a manufacturer, it usually comes with trials of programs, half installed applications, health of the system monitoring services and other things we call “bloatware”. This can slow down a computer and take time and effort to remove. iOS and Mac products are expensive.  I use Linux because I prefer Linux.

Linux has it’s downfalls. Some distributions, the different releases or versions of the operating system, are hard to install. Some are just down right impossible unless you have a very good grasp of partitioning schemes (how a hard drive is divided into smaller chunks of storage). With some equipment, like higher end or new servers, desktop components like video and sound cards, may not have a working driver. One rule of thumb is to ensure either through the manufacturers website or other online sources has a driver before purchasing.

Linux has it’s advantages. As I have mentioned before, it’s lightweight. There are distributions out there that only provide the kernel, a package manager (an application similar to Windows Store in Win 10, or the Apps store in iOS), and a few must have drivers and commands. You then build the operating system how you want. You select the desktop environment, the applications you want and only those ones and you set up the partitioning table your way. There are other distributions that are more mainstream (Ubuntu and Fedora), some for more business related application (Red Hat, CentOS), and some for penetration testing (Kali Linux). There is something for everyone.

Linux has a huge community, and it’s growth and stability are based from that community. When Linux started, back before Linus developed the kernel and released it under the GPL (GNU Public License), Richard Stallman and his group were working on a project called GNU (GNU’s Not Unix). This was back in 1984, and was a group effort.  This trend continues with what we see in today’s releases.

There are many more advantages to Linux over a “more mainstream” operating system. So I ask the question again. Why do I use Linux? Because I like Linux. I like the DIY mentality of Linux. I like the punk mentality of Linux. I like having choice. And choice, ladies and gentlemen, is good.

Thank you all for reading this. Please leave a comment below if you enjoyed, corrections if you feel necessary. Before I go, I wanted to announce that starting soon, I will be posting some networking, Cisco routers and switching, protocol and knowledge post in a new section. I will also be doing more Linux and Windows tutorials. Finally, a project I am beginning, and will be posting step by step instructions and progress. I will be creating my very own Linux distribution based on the Arch distro. I’ll explain later why I chose Arch. I’m very excited for this project. So please stay tuned.

Thank you again, and until next time…

Leave a Reply

