Welcome to the blog.

A little history about myself. I am currently a student at the New Brunswick Community College taking their Information Technology – Network Administration course. I have been interested in technology for years. Not knowing the true definition of the term…

A little history about myself. I am currently a student at the New Brunswick Community College taking their Information Technology – Network Administration course. I have been interested in technology for years. Not knowing the true definition of the term, I have been a hacker for all of those years. Now, before you go on a rant about hacking, let me tune you into the actual definitions of hacking versus cracking.

Hacking is a term that has been around for a very long time. As with things ideas that have been around, the true meaning is lost with time. Hacking was originally a person interested in computing and technology, and in using that love and knowledge, expanded their own knowledge through experimentation. That ideology originated in MIT in around the 60’s, when the hacker subculture got started.  For some really good reading about hacking and technology, look up Richard Stallman, Linus Torvalds, The GNU Project, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, and the list can go on and on. Now onto cracking.

Cracking is what, by today’s definition, you would call the hacker. A cracker was, and still is, the person that using software and their knowledge for malicious intents. Crackers are the security breachers, the identity thieves. These are the ones using software maliciously.

So what is the reason why I am making this blog? Well, at the suggestion of one of my instructors, I wanted to share my knowledge as I get it, plus other things I have picked up over the years. There will be times when I start discussions, there will be rants. Mostly, though, I hope that I can spread the knowledge of technology. I hope you enjoy the reads, and please, like and leave comments.

Leave a Reply

